Month: February 2011

  • brrr.

    After our mild and dry fall/early winter, true winter has struck with a vengeance since the turning of the year. Last week we had a snow/cold day followed by the first out-and-out cold day I’ve witnessed here. There wasn’t that much snow on the roads, it was just frigid, -15 and below, and most schools decided it was unsafe for students to be out waiting for buses, etc. Despite being gifted two days at home, I didn’t catch up on my grading as much as I’d hope, so when I heard another nasty blowing snow day was forecast Tuesday (today), I decided I’m taking a sick day, no matter what. I got stuck driving in the crap Thursday and Saturday afternoon, both events unexpected by meteorologists. Tonight is just going to be F-U-cold again, well below zero. 

    To anyone who thinks this disproves global warming, that is drawing a simple conclusion about a complex system with the same level of empirical evidence once used to say that since the ground is flat, the whole earth must be also.